Anti-Slip Beer Koozies

When I had some left over yarn, I came up with a pattern for a beer Koozie that I think are SO cute! 

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cable-koozie

When The train gang from work saw them ,they all wanted them.  We had been talking about getting some custom koozies for our group, a bunch of co-workers that all take the Metra train and enjoy beer on the way home on Fridays.  Imaking these about  started two weeks ago, and I keep running into problems.,  I had almost finished three, but I had not checked my gauge.  Duh!  I was using a different brand of yarn that was also in the bulky size.  But these end up much to large!  Let the frogging begin!  (You know rip it, rip it, rip it). 

I did the math, found the right number of rows and stitches and started over.  For this yarn (Bernat softee chunky), I started  the pattern with 16 sts, otherwise I followed the pattern exactly.  I finished the first one and remember a comment Chris said.  When he first saw my koozie , he wanted one, but wanted to know if the beer could just slip out of the sweater.  Good point.  So I had Tom test out this first guy, and sure enough…..slippery!  It was very hard to drink a beer with that koozie.  Now I have to come up with a solution for that.  Then I remembered that there is anti-slip stuff they make to put on shelves.  I went to Target and found just what i was looking for.

So I cut it and sewed it into this first koozie that was already done.  Presto!  IT works.  It made the grip so good I could hold the beer by the koozie’s sleeve.  No Slipping! 

 

 

Now, I just have to make a whole lot more of them.  I want to add different colors, some stripes, maybe some different cable patterns.  That way everyone will get a unique koozie!  I hope everyone likes them as much as I do.  They are so CUTE!

11 Comments

  1. March 19, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    […] to give it the kung fu grip.  No slipping off the beer!  To see more of my koozies, go to  https://eugenebinx.wordpress.com/2010/03/03/anti-slip-beer-cozies/. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Star Trek – Season 2 – Thumbnailed/LinkedStar […]

  2. Ralee said,

    February 26, 2011 at 12:05 am

    Brillant

  3. June Potere said,

    March 4, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Love these!!

  4. Curls & Q said,

    April 1, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    Adorable! I’m going to have to make some!

  5. mandymunroe said,

    August 7, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    Ok – being from a different planet – what’s a koozie? I love these and have to confess to making a knitted felted beer warmer myself, in the past (which was laughed at). I can see these are necessary on a daily basis.

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      August 7, 2013 at 10:33 pm

      I have never heard it called a beer warmer! But I have seen beer cozy, beer cozie and beer koozie, so I was not sure which to call it!

  6. mandymunroe said,

    August 8, 2013 at 7:00 am

    Koozie is good! So are you keeping it warm or cool?

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      August 8, 2013 at 7:09 am

      It’s more for fun than purpose. But it keeps your hands form getting cold when you beer is cold.

  7. mandymunroe said,

    August 8, 2013 at 7:48 am

    That’s important 🙂 – love them!


Leave a Reply

