Project Yarnway June 2010: Escape to Nowhere

For this challenge, we have been asked to create an item for a vacation (real or fantasy).

I know I am really behind, I was finishing up a baby blanket….

For my design, I decided to create something for my dog for our camping weekends.  Those are her favorite vacations!  She gets to be outside all day and  chase frogs!   But we take the boat often, and she gets very hot while we are out fishing.  She will only wade in the water up to her chest, and she does not like to swim.  So to keep her cool on hot suuny days on the boat, I have been taking a long sleeve t-shirt, soaking in the water and tying that around her neck to keep her cool.  It looks like a super hero cape.  Problem is, it always shifts around and ends up under her. 

So I decide I would knit her a cape that wraps around in front and buttons just past her front arms.  That should keep it in place.  So my design is “Superdog’s Cooling Cape”.

For the yarn, I decided to go with cotton, since it seems to be the most absorbent, that way I don’t have to take it off to soak it as often!

I added a hot pink acrylic to include her superhero logo.  I will try to use dupliacte stitch for this, something I am just learning.  And I love the colors, everyone always assumes that my dog is a boy!

I hope I can finish in time!

Finsh Piece is at :https://eugenebinx.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/superdog-cooling-cape/

4 Comments

  1. MarieW said,

    June 22, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    What a beautiful face she has! I love her picture!
    Your project is a great idea ! A friend of mine got little hats for her dogs, with a visor and the top part of the hat has a sponge retaining water kind of material between two layers of fabric, they seem to like the shade on their eyes and the water keep their heads cool. I’ll be following your progress!

    • eugenebinx said,

      June 23, 2010 at 8:23 am

      Thanks, the deadline is June 30th, so the finished piece should be up soon!

      A visor would not be a bad idea! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

