Some Firsts

First reall snow of the winter and the dog is LOVING it!!! Fresh snow with fresh bunnies tracks….ah, what could be better than that if your a dog?

 

 

For the first time, I am trying to make some gloves.  I  found the pattern Trends  on Raverly that I really liked.On this pattern, there were lots of new stuff to me, long tail cast on, lateral braid and linen ridge stitch.  The pattern made the braid really easy and it looks awesome!  I could NOT figure out the linen ridge stitch. Every time I tried, it came out looking a lot like garter stitch….so I changed it to a diagonal stitch.

Row 1: P2, K2, repeat to end
Row 2: P1, K2, P1, repeat to end
Row 3: K2, P2, repeat to end
Row 4: K1, P2, K1 repeat to end

My gauge was a little bigger that what the pattern called for, but my hand are a little bigger than 7” around. First try fit perfect around, but was too long for my hand.  Time to frog it and start over 😦

4 Comments

  1. Dawn Naujock said,

    January 14, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Are you going to be putting a cap that covers the fingertips when you aren’t needing bare fingers? I’d finish this one, then see how it fits, because that area where the gusset develops fits perfectly, you do want to have flexibility. Or knit them to gift and knit your pair of a finer plied yarn, or use smaller needles.

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      January 14, 2012 at 3:14 pm

      I was finished with the one glove, and it was bunching up in the middle because it was too long. I have already started over. I’m planning on using the same needles and yarn, but just remove a few rows in the middle…I think I have the math figured out. I still have not decided whether to cap or not cap…..I’m lean toward capping, it does get cold here!!!

  2. caityrosey said,

    February 8, 2012 at 8:50 am

    I’d love to makes something like this for the BF. He’s been looking for shoveling gloves like this for a while. His favorites were stolen by glove gnomes a year ago.

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      February 8, 2012 at 8:59 am

      I am using the pattern from Son of Stitch ‘n Bitch for my husbands. The pattern is a little more masculine. Too bad I have to make so many adjustments to it!


Leave a Reply

