Seriously Warm Gloves

Finished my first gloves ever and the wool I used made these so warm! I snowed 6 inches Friday night, so I was glad I was able to finished the gloves Saturday morning before heading out.  These came out so warm that my husband wants a pair. I amthink somethign similar…but may moss stitch instead of the diagonal stitch….a little more masculine. He likes cables though……going to have to think about this one!

I used the pattern Trends, but with a few changes.  I could NOT figure out the lattice stitch. Every time I tried, it came out looking a lot like garter stitch….so I changed it to a diagonal stitch.

Diagonal Stitch (in the round):
Row 1: P2, K2, repeat to end
Row 2: P1, K2, P1, repeat to end
Row 3: K2, P2, repeat to end
Row 4: K1, P2, K1 repeat to end

My gauge was also a little bigger that what the pattern called for, but my hand are a little bigger than 7″ around.  First try fit perfect around, but was too long for my hand.
To make it fit, I just remove 2 rows from each section of the gloves….fits perfect!  I also added a cap and a thumb cap.

Cap:
Pick up 16 stitches  right about the braid, cast on 20 stitches.  Work the diagonal stitch section , then work 21 rows of stockinette.
Next row:  Knit 4 k2tog*
Next row:  Knit 3 k2tog*
Next row:  Knit 2 k2tog*
Next row:  Knit 1 k2tog*
Next row:  K2tog*
Pull the yarn through the last stitches

Thumb cap, pick up 11 along the thumb, cast on 6 stitches.  Work 15 rows of stockinette.
Next row:  Knit 2 k2tog*
Next row:  Knit 1 k2tog*
Next row:  K2tog*
Pull the yarn through the last stitches

Next, I need to make a scarf to go with my hat and gloves!  I torn between using a sections of the stockinette and diagonal stitches just like in the gloves, or going just with the diagonal stitch….a few swatches should help.

4 Comments

  1. kathy said,

    January 31, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    Fabulous gloves/mittens! Love your reworking of the stitch pattern!

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      February 5, 2012 at 12:02 pm

      Thanks, I am working on a scarf to go with them too. I found the diagonal stitch in a Vogue Knitting book and I just loved it!

  2. edwina said,

    February 8, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    Love the color you chose and the variation! I will try it out while the cold’s still hanging around


Leave a Reply

