The Dead Zone

Our courtyard has an area I call “The Dead Zone”.  It is a large area were nothing has grown since the building did tuck pointing 2 1/2 years ago.

Another problem with this area is inconstant watering.  So I am planning on getting some soak hoses with a timer, luckily, the current house is just around that right corner!  I have some plans for this area that I hope to complete this spring. I think added some planter boxes can add some height and interest to this spot.  My husband needed a visual ot make my palns more clear, so I created this in paintbrush on my Mac (sorry, it is not very good, I am no graphic designer!)

I also need to update the path on the side, I am hoping to get some thicker stones…maybe read to go with the bricks of the building. 🙂

I need to look into some more shade friendly plants, but I  planning on using periwinkle as ground cover for some large brown areas..

The area used to be filled with ivy, which looked great, but it keeps climbing the building and causing damage.  But periwinkle not only does not climb, but has some nice flowers all spring and summer long!!

 

I know I have not picked up my knitting needles in some time…today is so nice outside.  There were cardinals, robins and starlings everywhere! I took a ton of flower pictures!Happy St. Paddy’s Day!!!!!!

2 Comments

  1. StasiaCrafts said,

    March 21, 2012 at 10:59 am

    Hens & chicks have done well for me in the shade before. And I recently saw an ad for some that were red as well.

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      April 1, 2012 at 9:50 am

      Cool, I have not heard of Hens&Chicks, but I saw some while I was shopping yesterday! I may have to get some, I think could add some nice color and texture to the garden! 🙂


Leave a Reply

