The Dead Zone – “It’s alive!”

Last weekend, Tom & I did a lot of gardening to add some life to the dead zone.  I built the planters from y previous post.  I think the came out pretty good!

I am so excited, some of the plants that I was sure died last year are coming back.  I the top right corner of the picture above are Geraniums!  They died off completely last year, but the Geraniums in another area of the courtyard stayed green all winter, so I was sure these were goners.  But there they are! Last year my mother-in-law wanted to get rid of some ferns (score- free plants).  They turned brown and dies after the transplantation, but they are popping up this spring!

 

Here is the work on the planters.  They are both constructed with 2×6’s and 2×2’s.

For the larger planter, we cut 6 pieces of  2×6’s at 5′ each, 6 pieces at 2′ and four pieces of the 2×2 at 16″ for the inner corners.

For each of the smaller planter, we cut 4 pieces of  2×6’s at 2,5′ each, 4 pieces at 1,5′ and four pieces of the 2×2 at 10.5″ for the inner corners.

A little stain goes a long way!  I love the color 🙂

We cut holes in the back of the planter to run a soak house through the planter so no watering will be required.  I filled the planters with some bulbs that like shade, I hope they come up soon.

I also got new stones for a path back to the bird feeder by the planters.

Heidi likes gardening, it means she gets to hang out outside all day!

 

Today, I am planing on adding some more dirt to the planters (there has been some settling), planing more seeds on the roof, and plant morning glory seeds along the fence.  If I get the time, I have more stones for a path back to the hose.  It would be nice not to have to walk through the plants and dirt every time you need to get the hose!

I will have re-post when all the planters are up!

 

 

6 Comments

  1. April 1, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    Its looking like its off to a great start 🙂

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      April 1, 2012 at 6:19 pm

      Thanks, I hope the bulbs come up soon! We had a VERY small budget allocated by the board.

  2. Jennifer said,

    April 1, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    Wow, your planters are beautiful!

  3. craftingismybliss said,

    April 3, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    Love to see you sprucing up the garden. My doggie helps me garden as well (he really spends all his dachshund time getting tangled on every little root and twig so I will get him untangled every 10 minutes). Happy Spring!


Leave a Reply

