Burnin’ Though the Stash and Banning the Bamboo

IMG_20130620_193912_632

 

We recently purchased all new furniture for our office, which of course forces us to clean out and reorganize the office.  One thing it made me realize is just how big my stash is and how many started and unfinished projects were hidden in the closet.  So I am determined to use or get rid of the stash and only purchase yarn for a specific project and only when I am actually working on it!!!!!

IMG_20130620_193627_741

So, project one…I found some great cotton yarn and have started on a project, a bag Itsybitsy and Kitchen Sink Bags

 

IMG_20130620_193552_063

I used to a have similar bag (and I LOVED it) that I had purchased at Whole Foods, but it was much think yarn and eventually, it fell apart.

 

Got started last night with the project and found the basket weave stitch to be SO DIFFICULT!!!  Then tonight, some luck struck….my needles broke!!!  And I can say how glad I am they did.  I was using some cheap bamboo needles that had been purchased on ebay and when I switched to a pair of Boyes metal needles that was a HUGE difference.  Basket weave stitch is not as difficult because the yarn can move some much easier with the new needles.

 

I hope this means with the office clean up and the new project that t I can get rid of all my crappy bamboo needles and eventually replace them all with all!!!!!!!

10 Comments

  1. June 20, 2013 at 10:45 pm

    I love stash cleaning!

  2. stitchknit said,

    June 21, 2013 at 1:04 pm

    I seem to be in stash building mode! 🙂

  3. JDKnitter said,

    July 10, 2013 at 11:17 am

    awesome! I made a market bag out of the cheap Peaches n cream yarn years ago and will never knit a bag out of cotton yarn because it hurt my fingers so much! But now that I think about it, every material has its purpose (bamboo & metal needles).. like knitting silk or alpaca on a metal needles is kind of scary. Wooden needles with lots of lanolin makes really fun wool knitting too. 🙂

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      July 10, 2013 at 11:20 am

      Is there any yarn that bamboo is good for? I was planning on getting rid of them after how difficult they were to use. (then again, the ones I have were cheap form ebay and have no finish at all…just straight bamboo).

      • JDKnitter said,

        July 10, 2013 at 12:03 pm

        bamboo (any wood) is good for very slippery yarns like silk, bamboo.. as well as wool or wool blend. Even acrylic. I don’t know what kind you got but good bamboo needles shouldn’t be “cheap” although they’re affordable. I have cheap bamboo needles from Ebay too, as well as Addi, KnitPicks, HiyaHiya, Chiagoo, and Signature Needles (which are the most exp needles I own). Mostly metal, but I have fairly equal number of bamboo needles to metal needles. They all have purposes, just like all yarn/fiber has theirs.

  4. elfknitter said,

    July 26, 2013 at 1:15 am

    I know that feeling -I’ve been on the ‘can’t buy unless it’s for something special’ for a while now! My stash doesn’t seem to be reducing much!

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      July 26, 2013 at 6:32 am

      I know! And yet somehow, I found I have to buy of the yarn I have more yarn to use the yarn I have!!! But I have decided going forward to only buy yarn for a specific project and only when I am going to start working on that project. Now, the questions is can I stick to that 🙂

  5. August 22, 2013 at 10:01 am

    I have so much yarn stashed I don’t think I’ll ever be able to buy more … unless I start knitting bedspreads again!


Leave a Reply

