To Frog or Not to Frog…that is the question

IMG_20130627_183323_899I’ve been working on the Kitchen Sink Bag for a week now, and am a little disappointed in the results.

Two big problems.  First, the basketweave does NOT look the same in when knit in the round as it does when knit flat.  Not to mention it was REALLY hard to keep track of odd and even rows when knitting in the round, so I kept making mistakes, which makes it look even worse!  See the difference (1) knit flat vs. (2) knit in the round.

IMG_20130627_183339_043

IMG_20130627_183332_871

Second, I came to the finally row of repeating mesh pattern and should begin ending the bad and creating the handle.  It is SO short and squat!  Since the mesh pattern is so stretchy, seems silly to have such a wide bag of it.

So, after a week of effort, and an almost finished bag, do I frog the project and start over, removing the basketweave and making the pattern less wide and more high?  Or maybe I should just finish it up, make this my boat tote bag (towels, sunscreen and a book should fit) and use the cream yarn I still have to make another they way I want it.  Thoughts?

5 Comments

  1. June 28, 2013 at 3:21 am

    I actually really like the bag. I can see how you would be bummed that the stitches didn’t turn out how you’d planned but this bag could still be very versatile!
    My vote – NOT to frog! 🙂

    • doctordana said,

      June 28, 2013 at 11:36 am

      I second this! I like the way this turned out. And you can never have too many cute little bags! Not to frog!

      • July 5, 2013 at 10:00 am

        Voting for not to frog too. You wanted to use your stash so if you are fine with this as a beach bag (btw I love the colour!) then why not make another one the way you now know you want/need it. Like this you have two bags and used twice as much stash 🙂

  2. demoiselle said,

    July 9, 2013 at 8:13 pm

    I always ask myself if I will ever feel good using something when I’m in a quandary. If the answer is that–even turning a bag to a different use–I’ll feel disappointed whenever I handle it I’d frog it. If I found that I’d be perfectly content and no longer notice the “mistake” then I’d keep it.

    What did you decide?

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      July 10, 2013 at 10:36 am

      I was so far along, that I decided even if I was not happy with some of the stitches and with the size that I would finish. I just made it longer so it was not so squat and now it is a great bag for lots of towels for the boat. 🙂


Leave a Reply

