Back to the island

It has been almost two weeks since I’ve I posted anything about our progress on the outdoor shower and the island!  We are almost complete!  It would have been totally done by now, but we decided to do less work and more relaxing this weekend.  It was AWESOME .  🙂

IMG_20130809_201609_450

So….shower progress… My husband Tom completed all of the work to get the pump, water heater and rain barrel all set up. ( We found the pump is great if the water is nearby, but is not strong enough to pull the water form the river.)  I’ve has him to post how he did it, so hopefully that will be coming later.

The set up look like:

IMG_20130811_112514_169

IMG_20130810_101952_355

We also have all of the benches completed!  These benches are the Anna White Simple Outdoor Bench.  I think they came out great. I saw in all the pictures, the legs come down on two sides, but the plan only calls for one, so I followed the pictures not the plan there.  I think it is a little more sturdy that way.  I build two benches, one goes directly under the shower (so you can easily was you feet ) and one in the back.  I love the look!

IMG_20130811_112520_587

IMG_20130811_110357_762

The only things left to do is to add a few shelves and hooks and we are thinking of adding some type of gutter to the back side of ht e shower to help collect rain water.

Last weekend, we finally got a contractor out to take a look at what it would take to get a very large deck up on the property for a yurt.  (This is one project we should probably leave to an expert).  The yurt we are looking at is 30 feet in diameter.  We also want to have our too shed up above the flood level, so we are talking about a 50 x50 foot deck that is 4-6 feet in the air.  The we want a lower deck that is about 2-3 feet up that is for the picnic table and chairs etc.  I also finally pulled out one of our old tents that was very muddy still since it was left on the island in our old shed and got hit by the severe flood this year.  I had opened it up a few weeks ago and let it sit out to dry, and then I clean it out (not a fun process).  Now that old tent is our temporary tool/toy shed 🙂

This weekend, we also reorganized our tools and had a tree expert come out and walk the property.  I found out that most of the trees I though were back walnut are actually Box Elder trees.  There are a few black walnuts trees, but not nearly as many as I expected.  So that’s a good thing!

I am hoping to post pictures of the completed shower next week!  Projects coming up:  1) Take care of the beaver problem by wrap trees in 3 feet of wire.  I don’t mind that his house is near the island or that  likes to take down Box Elder trees, but I hate tripping on the stumps he leaves. So we want to save the trees near our campsite (hopefully soon to be yurt area!)  2) Put up an outhouse…we have been stalling on this one, because we were afraid that a traditional outhouse is a bad idea on an island that floods over every spring. So we have come up with a compromise.  W can build a structure that looks like a traditional outhouse (with out the pit) and put a composting toilet in it instead.  3) I hope….get the contractor to build he deck and add the yurt!!!!!

One more island update…I found that we have some HUGE bullfrogs on the island.  I knew we had some (you can’t miss that sound) but I had no idea how big some of them were.  I found one that was bigger than my hand.  And they sit very still so you can easily get their picture!

IMG_20130810_191917_732_2

IMG_20130810_192259_649

We also have some pretty big northern leopard frogs.

IMG_20130810_192149_978

Heidi thinks the frogs are the greatest thing ever.  She spends a lot of time searching the shoreline for them.  This weekend, she figured out they like to hang out near the algae…so we had a green dog this weekend!

IMG_20130817_123855_263

IMG_20130817_130000_726

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. Jo said,

    August 19, 2013 at 8:54 am

    Love the benches! Your outdoor shower is looking great. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

  2. babywren said,

    August 19, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    The benches are great! Looks like a neat place to be.

  3. August 20, 2013 at 8:47 am

    Thanks for the update, it was great to see again how things are going. Stunning, I love what you are doing. It is going to be awesome. 😉
    Your dog looks so cute with the green legs, could not help but smile.


Leave a Reply

