New: Fire Pit & Camera – Island Update

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES(this blackhawk statue is the second largest concrete statue ever made

and is just up river from the island).

My hubby is so sweet…he has been hearing my complaining that I can’t get any good pictures of all the beautiful birds around the island, so he got me a new camera that has AWESOME zoom  🙂

IMG_20130907_125717_160

I was having some fun with this on Saturday!

So this Saturday, we first hit an estate sale.  We have been looking for someplace near the island that sells boulders….we wanted our fire pit to be very simple, just a bunch of boulders so if is easy to move around as is needed  (the island floods and is prone to trees falling).  There was some fun old rusty things at the sale (and I had an excuse to play with my new camera):

But in the end, we ended up purchasing:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

one skid that was in great shape and had the wood pieces very close together.  We thought this would be great to throw a dog bed over so she can lay a little above the ground to get away fro the bugs (no, my dog is NOT spoiled).  We also purchase the 12 medium boulders and used them for our new fire pit.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESand Tom found two great old pieces of wood that we think will make a cool bench.  We just need to sand the top, bold them together and add some varnish.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We did not arrive to the island until nearly 5 pm on Saturday,I found this little guy stuck in the port-a-potty, so I let him go out in the grass.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

and some one was VERY happy to be heading out there…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I found a temporary home for the cool bottles I have been collecting on the island…in the outdoor shower!

This time of year, the island has SO many geese….they will hang out for a few months before heading further south.  And even though I was never able to get close enough for a good picture, with this camera, I could even get a great shot of the geese hanging out across the river!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also got a few pictures of the sandpipers.

We took a nice walk across that island

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

that evening and it was beautiful.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

At the south end of the island, we found the sail boat canoe was out:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESOne of my favorite views from the island is of the south end  ( and it gets the most flowers, bees & butterflies) …I really want to put a gazebo there to just sit and enjoy! This is the south end view:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

While we were out walking, Heidi suddenly went on critter patrol and insisted that she had found one.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I found she was checking out a hole in a tree!!!  I put the camera down there and found something had burrowed a nice house down there.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We also checked out the Raccoon Restaurant along the walk:

I found some old pepsi cans (those always bring back memories):

And for this weeks island garbage, I found a Mail box  🙂

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I found that more of the vines are getting fall colors, and some are just getting eaten by the Japanese beetles:

Had to get some interesting tree shots:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was sad to see that the big 7 foot sunflowers have all stopped flowering, but another kid of yellow flower is heavily in in bloom and there are a few other flowers still trying to hold on:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After the walk it was time ot light up the tikis

and grill up some burgers:

After that, it was campfire time!!!!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The next day was very gray and the rain would not quit….so we left hte island early, grab breakfast and Charlies and heading home with enough time ti watch the Bears (barely) win!  What a great weekend.  We came to late for many birds I was hoping to see, but I’ll get them next time!

10 Comments

  1. Mistine said,

    September 15, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    Gorgeous!

  2. September 16, 2013 at 6:06 am

    I wish I was there!! 🙂
    Looks beautiful. Thanks for sharing with us all. Love the bottles and their special place, you have great ideas.
    And your dog: as we say: “my dog is not spoilt, I am just well trained” 🙂
    Enjoy and take care.

  3. Jo said,

    September 16, 2013 at 11:29 am

    The new camera is great as are the photos. Enjoy your island. A gazebo sounds just the thing. Jo @ Let’s Face the Muisc

  4. September 16, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my site!

    Love all your accessorizing, especially the bottles. Hope Heidi appreciates her new dog ‘loft’ bed!

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      September 16, 2013 at 12:50 pm

      Thanks..all the bottles were found washed up on the island and I had to put them to good use!

  5. Jen said,

    September 20, 2013 at 9:05 am

    I love the bench, the bottles, all the things you’re up to ! AND… I finally got it together and gave you a proper ‘thank-you’ 🙂 xx

    http://jenjoycedesign.wordpress.com/2013/09/14/finishing/

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      September 20, 2013 at 9:08 am

      I’ve “liked” so many of your posts, I had to nominate you! 🙂

      • Jen said,

        September 20, 2013 at 9:11 am

        Well, of course, lucky me that you liked my posts, because it brought me to your amazing blog !!! 🙂 We two knit-bloggers-with-German-Shepherds got to stick together !

      • ElizabethL42 said,

        September 20, 2013 at 9:14 am

        That’s right!


Leave a Reply

