A Blustery Island Day + Yarn Along

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSo I did not get any time to post before today, so this post will be an island update as well as a yarn along post.

This weekend on the island, it was very windy and some rain as well 😦  So we did not work on any projects.  We did the usual walk on the island.  We found a Blue Jay feather

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I found some raccoon tracks

Some flowers are still blooming:

I love that so many of the trees on the island have holes form the critters or are twisted (you can only see that after they fall and the bark comes off).

And there was more evidence of fall.

I got a great shot of one of the turkey vultures (and his dinner), but heron was a little harder, I was on the boat so the shot did not quite come out as we were moving.

The next morning, the fog was beautiful.

Everything was wet and cold so we headed home.On the dock, the spider webs looked so cool with all the dew and fog

We were able to get home just in time for the Bears game (to bad the lost)  😦

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Ok, now for the yarn along!

This week I am reading My Sister’s Keeper and I made some progress on my knitting.  I got the additional yarn I needed for my Stormy Scarf and I have added to the length.  It think it is almost done!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

On my Yurt Throw, I finished (almost) tow more squares which completes all of the wheat squares.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here is the overall pattern and progress:

pattern_10022013

7 Comments

  1. Katarina said,

    October 2, 2013 at 1:16 pm

    Lovely photos, I never would have guessed that those were racoon tracks.

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      October 2, 2013 at 1:21 pm

      I’ve seen them a few times and heard them as well….I think it is really cute that they keep digging up and eat fresh water clams and leave the shells all over the shore a

  2. Mistine said,

    October 2, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    When I saw the raccoon tracks on the WordPress reader, I thought they were children’s hand prints!

  3. Jen said,

    October 3, 2013 at 8:57 am

    That cabled scarf looks sooooo nice !

  4. October 9, 2013 at 5:50 am

    Those 2 squares for your blanket is simply stunning. And I love the pic of the spider web, so pretty dainty and sparkly.

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      October 9, 2013 at 9:52 am

      Thanks, I could not resits get a pic of the web with the dew…so cool!! And very October appropriate 🙂


Leave a Reply

