An Long Pause & Another island….

I know it has been a VERY long time since my last post….back in October I started interviewing for (and got) a new position at work, and I have just felt so busy since then!!!!

I’m try to get back on track…so here’s some updates.

The island:  I am disappointed that we did not get the pulling up the dock in at the end of the season….it got cold so fast. We were heading out one weekend in November to find the river had large ice chucks, so we did not risk taking the boat out….so I guess this means we will probably be building a new dock in the spring 😦

But here are some pics from October/November (so, no posts then!)  It was amazing to see we still have some flowers/mushrooms/fall leaves & even a caterpillar & a heron this late before the freeze!

Knitting:  I just got so frustrated with the project I was working on that I stopped knitting all together.  I have restarted this stupid scarf so many times!!! But it just keeps CURLING !!!!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I tried that pattern as it was and edging would flip over onto the front of the scarf :(.  SO frogged a lot of work and tried again, adding a slip stitch before the edging…..same problem :(.  At this point I think I am going to ditch the scarf and make a cowl or an infinity scarf instead (no curling there right 🙂 ).

And the hat….I followed the pattern and had some STRANGE results… the hat looks more like a beanie than a beret. The brim is loose and the hat is not….what kind of beret is that…..I don’t know if I am just not getting along with this yarn, or if I am knitting to tight/loose, need to change needles or what!   But I may just keep the hat, because I already did all the finishing and I DON’T want to frog that.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Family Time:  I also got to take off a few days early this month and head off to Utah to see my sisters, nephew & niece.  That was a lot of fun, we did some tubing, did way too much karaoke and went to see Toad the Wet Sprocket.   We stayed up late every night watching scary movies with my nephew or playing cards.  It was a blast!

And now for another island; My husband’s friend got married.  Congrats Dr. D!!!!  The wedding was as out in the Caymans.  I have to say, it was such a great excuse to take a nice vacation.  The wedding was on Grand Cayman and it was one of the best parties ever.  We had so much fun!!!!

Then we went off to Cayman Brac, which was AWESOME.  It was such a quiet place and had great snorkeling….

cave exploring…

and I even got to win at darts…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The critters, flowers and agave were so cute 🙂

and the beaches….ah!

We even chartered a boat to go fishing….it would have been a ton of fun… we got a 30 lb. Wahoo in the first 20 minutes!  But then the wind and the waves pickedup and it became a very scary boat ride.

I am going to try to get back into my knitting, I really do enjoy it, I just have to make time.  And I will try to be better and posting regularly!  I am going to start with redesigning that scarf, so I will post when I have an update.

2 Comments

  1. February 20, 2014 at 2:47 am

    It is so very good to hear from you again and catch up with you. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing, looks like you had a fantastic time.
    (I love the hat, I would probably keep it as well)

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      February 24, 2014 at 5:06 pm

      Thanks… i know I have been so bad about posting! I need to get better 🙂


Leave a Reply

