Yarn Along & A Frozen Island – 3/12/2013

This week was pretty busy, but I made some progress on my turquoise set and I am (still) reading Post Office.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I had wanted to make the scarf like in the Alokananda pattern, but I was having so many issues with it curlying, so I decided to make it into a cowl.  I just took the first two diamonds from the cable pattern (20 stitches) and repeated it 5 times in the round.   I thin the width is good, maybe it could be a little wider, but I think the blocking and finishing may fix that.

This weekend, we wen tout to see what has become of the island after this long frozen winter only to find the river is still iced over!  But from across the river I could see that the dock was still there (I wonder if the barrels have been destroyed by the ice, if so, it will sink when it melts), the outdoor shower did survive and we had left our tent because the river became icy before we could go out to get it, and I was shocked to see ti still STANDING!  This winter has had so much wind, and icy and snow, but the tent is still up!  So I just that is a good sign for putting a yurt on the island 🙂

6 Comments

  1. March 12, 2014 at 9:14 am

    Winter camping seems like so much fun. I’ve never stayed in a yurt, but my brother builds quinzees when he goes which are so warm.
    That is a fabulous colour for a cowl!

    • ElizabethL42 said,

      March 12, 2014 at 9:40 am

      We weren’t intending=g to camp in the winter, the river go ice on it at the end of the season so we did not get out tent down. I would love to go there in the winter maybe with a wood stove in a cabin or yurt (if and when we can build that), but I think it is just to dangerous to try to cross the ice. 😦

      • March 12, 2014 at 9:43 am

        Oh that’s too bad, but yes good to be cautious! Summer/fall camping is just as great, just less woolie, lol

      • ElizabethL42 said,

        March 12, 2014 at 10:16 am

        🙂

  2. March 12, 2014 at 9:19 am

    Cables in blue…gorgeous! 🙂

  3. March 17, 2014 at 8:29 am

    Love the knitting, it is stunning.
    I also like the snow pics, very stunning. (we dont see much in sunny SA) 🙂


Leave a Reply

